top of page
Search
  • babonds15

Keep Your Head Up And Your Hands Busy

2020 has been an interesting year to say the least. It is certainly not what anyone hoped for so far. I have seen a lot of sad stories lately related to the Corona Virus and mental health; some of these stories ended in tragedy. Many people are struggling with depression due to isolation, and anxiety seems to be at an all time high, because of hysteria and uncertainty. Personally, I have never struggled with major depression or anxiety, so I can’t say I know what everyone is going through. I do know what it feels like to be down, disappointed, anxious, and uncertain.

I am an optimist. Sometimes to a fault. I have always had a bad habit of setting my expectations too high and playing things out in my head. If you are like me, then you know that often reality does not measure up and disappointment ensues. This is something I have had to work on.

A lot of times things do not turn out exactly how we expect. We’re not going to always feel great about things, and everybody feels down from time to time. That’s okay. In previous posts, I’ve talked about how my time in college was a very good time in my life, and that is true. However, I had set certain expectations that were not fulfilled in my first semester. Looking back now those things that I was missing were so insignificant, and it was ridiculous for me to think that all of the things that I was hoping to change for me in college would happen all at once.

In my second semester, the spring of 2016, I just wasn’t as excited about everything as I was before. I was spending more time in my room by myself, instead of going out and spending time with my friends. One thing that helped me get through this time was playing guitar. I had always wanted to play, because I have always loved music. Because of my Cerebral Palsy, learning to play the conventional way didn’t work, so I got a guitar and a Chordbuddy device for Christmas. I spent that next semester teaching myself to play.

What does this have to do with anything? Well, if I had just stayed in my room with my thoughts and nothing else to occupy my mind, I could have stayed in that slump I was in. like I said, I have not ever experienced major depression, so I can’t say that I know what it’s like, but I have witnessed friends go through it. I know depression is real. Recently, I was reading a devotional that talked about when we are down and lacking confidence in ourselves and God, the devil likes to get in our heads. I really believe this is true.

I think in times like this it is good to always turn to God’s word for help, but also, I think it is a good thing to find something to occupy our thoughts and time. Try a new hobby, get a dog, learn an instrument do something. You can weather the storm. Everybody has bad days just don’t let those turn into bad weeks or years. You don’t want to dwell in the negative, because God has good things in store for us all. I will leave y’all with this verse that I like, “You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promised” (Hebrews 10:36).

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page